I’m Attached To My Wardrobe

Lauren over at LbeeandtheMoneyTree inspired me to write this post. Check our her Dirty Financial Confessions.

Some girls love decorating or collecting ornaments or getting mani pedi’s. This girl loves her wardrobe! I guess it’s not unusual for a girl to love her clothes. I’m sure if I ask most boyfriends, they will say girls love getting all dolled up.

Now, I’m not one of those girls that’s always dressed up with make up. Actually on a scale of 1 to 10, I’m more like a 5. I’ve totally gone to Wal-Mart in my pajamas and bathrobe with no make up and my curly hair all crazy. I often forget to go to the hair salon and trim my hair. And I’ve only gotten 2 mani/pedis in my life. I’m not kidding. I should probably go get more pedis because running usually destroys my feet.

But I love my wardrobe. Every piece of clothing, pair of shoes, and jewelry is connected me and represents a part of me. If we were evacuating and I could only grab a handful of things, I would probably grab my Macbook Air, chargers, and a bunch of suitcases full of my clothes and shoes. I would find a way to stuff my entire closet!

This is just a small glimpse into my portion of the closet.

20130106_191151Closet

Actually, on the top of my house wants is a big closet all for me!!! If the house has small closets, it’s a no go. Simple as that. Been there, done small closets, and they don’t fit my ehhh lifestyle.

I know it sounds extremely materialistic, but I don’t know, the way I see it is I don’t have many vices. I don’t drink anything but water (yes, no alcohol), I don’t smoke, I don’t do drugs, so I will have my clothes. You only live once, and this girl is gonna have her clothes. Screw minimalism.

I do, however, have rules to my shopping:

  1. I don’t every spend money I don’t have.
  2. I rarely buy anything full price, unless I really need it like pantyhose.

I, also, am a bargain shopper.

  1. I love sales.
  2. Someone’s old clothes are new to me. I often find special items at thrift stores, garage sales, etc.

Now, I don’t really consider this a dirty financial confession. I’m not a shopaholic, and I always limit myself. I admit sometimes I feel guilty, but at the end of the day…what is money for?

Anybody out there attached to their wardrobe?Ā 

9 responses to “I’m Attached To My Wardrobe

    • I actually have accumulated most of my wardrobe in the past four or five years. Although I have a couple things I bought in high school like jeans. I haven’t fluctuated a lot in weight since high school. Maybe like five pounds, so stuff still fits.

  1. I love that there is a clearance/sale sticker on that tag in the top pic. As long as you’re not destroying the budget, shop away! We all have our vices and shouldn’t be ashamed to share them–especially if we’re financially responsible otherwise

    • Hah I didn’t even notice that!!!
      Yeah, I never really buy full price items. My hubby actually tells me I need to start taking better care of myself including going to get mani pedis, always looking nice (clothes and makeup), and keeping my hair nice.
      I still feel guilty indulging because I didn’t grow up doing these things. I was more of a tomboy.

  2. I would totally grab my laptop if I was faced with an emergency but wouldn’t even think twice about my grabbing my clothes lol. I enjoy looking at nice clothes on people and find fashion artsy and interesting, but I’m just not the type to dress myself up. I think I’m too nerdy. šŸ™‚ All I need is jeans and a sweater or yoga pants and a fleece and I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

