We Cancelled Our Cable

On Monday, I sat down to look at my cable bills since I knew our promotional period ended. What I hadn’t realized was the promotion period ended in early January, and for the past three weeks, I have been paying full price for my services. This is what happens when you don’t pay attention to your bills, and they are auto deductible on your credit card.

So, I called the cable company to cancel our cable or see if we could get a better rate. Here is the conversation with AT&T.

Me: “Hello, I would like to cancel my cable today.”

AT&T: “I would be glad to help you today, but are you sure you want to cancel?”

Me: ” Yes, unless I can find an equal promotion to what we have right now. I’m just not willing to pay more for cable.”

AT&T: “Well, let me check.”

Me: “Ok.”

We went back and forth for the next ten minutes, with lots of silences in between. He would tell me to wait to talk to his manager, he would come back, and present option, and I would tell him to wait, and call my husband, and then come back and say it’s not good enough.

I actually got a pretty good price, but in the end it wasn’t worth the extra fifty bucks a month to watch 2-3 hours of TV. AT&T is extremely expensive compared to Direct TV. The AT&T guy actually said if you are interested in getting Direct TV, I could offer you a better promotion. Unfortunately, we do not have a balcony, so we can’t get satellite. My husband has his Xbox now, which is his main source of entertainment. And I always watch netflix and hulu on my computer. No point in having a service we don’t use, so we cancelled our cable.

Next bill to tackle is our insurance policy. We pay $219 every month for renter’s insurance (like $10), and for insurance coverage for my husband and I. Our cars aren’t even that new. He has a 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer, and I have a 2007 Honda Civic.

Have you looked at your current bills, and determined whether you really need them or not? Have you picked up the phone and renegotiated price?

11 responses to “We Cancelled Our Cable

  1. I’m sure you won’t miss it at all if you hardly watch it. What’s the point really of having it so smart move I think. The best part is the savings in your budget now you can do something else with the money.

  2. We have Hulu and I like it a lot. I get to watch programs on my own schedule on the iPad and don’t have to worry about sitting down in one specific location to watch them. It’s great =)

  3. I love the cable merry-go-round of we can get you a better deal. I also love how they act like you have cancer and are refusing treatment when you say no. lol! It’s like dude, I get it’s a good deal, but I really don’t need to watch 4 more hours of tv a day. My tv needs are met. But I know what you mean about not being extra careful about checking your bills. I put tivo on hold when it broke in june and I forgot to completely cancel it when the hold was lifted and they started charging me. I got charged 4 months and I didn’t even notice. ugh!! I tried to get it taken off but they said no. jerks!

  4. Pingback: Our favourite posts from personal finance bloggers and a yummy recipe. | DINKS Finance·

Leave a Reply

