Staying Motivated

Happy Monday Readers and PF Bloggers! Today’s post is not really going to be related to personal finance but more tackles lifestyle choices!

Let me just say, the past month has been both hard and easy. I am really enjoying my new job. I like my company, my boss, and my co workers. I am definitely being challenged. It has been a little slow because I am currently in training, and cannot contribute as much as I would like. It’s a huge transition for me. I had been at my university for four years completing my undergraduate and graduate degree. I knew everybody, knew who to go to for questions, or for advice. It was easy to move around the organization. I am new to this organization and I am still awkward. What can I do? Who do I go to for questions? Where are the conference rooms? :) It’s all good, considering I am grateful for my job. However, I have so many questions! How do I advance in my career? How do I get bonuses? LOL Maybe I am getting ahead of myself here?

So where does the hard part come in? I am having a hard time adjusting to the new schedule. My mind and my body are both in agony. During graduate school, my schedule was basically on and off from 11 am to 4 am. Now it has switched to 6:30 am to 10 pm. During the day, I am exhausted, and try not to pass out. I am going to bed early, and still don’t seem to get enough sleep. Note: I do not consume any caffeinated products, so I cannot drink coffee or a soda to wake myself up in the morning or halfway through the day. Today was actually the first morning I felt amazing. I am hoping my body is getting adjusted finally to this new schedule because I need more energy.

My lack of energy and sleep has affected my performance throughout the day. One, I feel slow…Two, I haven’t been working out, and have gained a couple of pounds. Too much chocolate! Bam….the vending machines are too close to my cube.

I have been taking steps to relax more. We went out with friends this weekend! I got a haircut and some hair products! I watched the Olympic Opening Ceremony, and some of the events. Although, I don’t think I am recording the right events. Where can I watch the swimming and gymnastics matches? Right now, all I see is cycling, which doesn’t really interest me.

My main goal this week is to stay motivated! I want to workout a couple of times this week and get back in the groove. I, also, don’t want to be as tired. I have so much to do. Our anniversary is this weekend, and I haven’t really planned anything. Yikes!

He wants some wireless headphones to work out and a new otter box for his phone. But I want to get him something he will have to remember. What do you think about a watch?

10 responses to “Staying Motivated

  1. Glad you are liking the job! You will slowly get used to things. Here are some things to try. Forgive me if you already have tried these techniques. Drink water all day! Dehydration can make you feel tired. Eat a good quality breakfast, and don’t eat a big lunch..that can really lead to that post lunch nap feeling around 2 and 3pm. Eat small, high protein snacks, and avoid sugary stuff or carby stuff. Just weighs you down. When you get that afternoon slump, head outside or take the stairs for a 15 minute break, just to get some fresh air or the blood flowing. Bring your gym clothes to work and go directly to a park/gym/whatever after work so you don’t stop at home first. If you don’t have that option, see if you can round up some people at work for an afternoon walk. Or work out before work so you get it out of the way…if that’s something you’re into. Anyway, just some options! :)

    • Thanks! I live five minutes away from my office and my complex has an awesome gym and fitness classes. So I go home after work, change, and walk two minutes for the fitness lasses.
      I am trying not to eat big lunches and bring more snacks. Although I am always hungry in the morning, and full in the afternoon LOL. I will take some of your tips on this.

  2. I’m so tremendously happy you’re enjoying your new job – it’s really rare to see people being happy about their work:-( As for the tiredness, I’m sure your body will get used to the new schedule. Working out would definitely help though;-))) Please keep us updated, it’s really exciting to learn how things are going at your new job!

  3. I’ve been at my job for over a year and a half and I still feel like I don’t know a lot. A watch for an anniversary present sounds like a great idea. I was thinking of getting my bf a watch for his bday this year, but he’s really picky and he doesn’t want to get a watch until the current one he has dies on him. Sometimes I think he’s more frugal than me. :)

Leave a Reply

