The Exciting and Not So Exciting Parts of Growing Up

I love my independence! I love living alone, away from parents! I love being able to pay my own bills! Of course, I love paychecks and any additional side income I can get!

I do not love figuring out the fine print. What I mean by the fine print is figuring out what medical insurance covers. Or how much my hubby’s contacts are going to be. Or who my in-network doctors should be.

I love having my car! Who doesn’t like to drive wherever and whenever they feel like it!?!

I do not love the way my parents see me. They want me to grow up, and stay a little girl at the same time! So even though I’m an adult, stopped depending on them a while ago, they still want to treat me as a child. This awkward stage of being in the middle is so not exciting.

I love having my grown up job! It is awesome! Even though I get tired, it makes me feel accomplished.

I do not love the period after lunch when sleep tries to get to me. When I really wished there was a nap room.

I love taking care of just myself (and hubby, of course, but he’s mostly independent). This much needed “selfish” time is needed for my development. I have to say that I don’t mind not having someone else to be responsible for at the end of the day. I don’t think I could handle a pet at this point.

These are the exciting and not so exciting parts of growing up.

22 responses to “The Exciting and Not So Exciting Parts of Growing Up

  1. That would be awesome to get a break after lunch to take a nap, or get a two hour lunch. I remember when I went to Dominican in 2001 and the stores were closed for two hours between 12:00 – 2:00pm. I don’t think they do that anymore, well they didn’t last year when I was there.

  2. I love and hate pretty much the same things on your list…I especially hate the fine print in regards to insurance. The first time I filed a claim I was denied and I had a mini-freak out moment about what to do since my parents used to always handle that kind of stuff

    • Yes! Fine print sucks unfortunately. Especially when you are buying something with a contract. I will never shop and sign a contract online or on the phone ever again. I did with my parent’s home security system, and I got screwed over. :(
      Nowadays you need a lawyer to interpret the terms and conditions.

  3. I totally remember this feeling right after I moved out for my first full-time job. It was scary, but exciting. Fun, but stressful (having to be responsible for everything on my own). Independent and satisfying being free, but lonely sometimes since I missed my family. Growing up is definitely bittersweet, but there are a lot of pros to it too.

    • There are definitely ups and downs while growing up. Most of the things I am encountering now, are not new to me. I have been at university away from family since I was 18, and even though my parents helped me financially, 95% of my costs were covered by scholarship. And I have been taking care of everything by myself. Even though it’s not new, it’s still a pain to deal with! lol I do love this stage and I would not rewind. I am happier than I have ever been in my life.

  4. I’m always pushing for nap time in my department! And I remember thinking that I was going to eat junk food all day, any day that I wanted because as a grown up, you can do that. Until of course, your clothes start to not fit, you feel yucky and unhealthy–then you realize, hmm..junk food is not what I want anymore.

    • Before college, I would rarely eat junk food. During college, junk food became a daily meal! Now attempting to pick up good eating habits is harder than ever. Especially since my will is not as strong.
      Yeah clothes not fitting is bad! The moment I realize my clothes are tight, I start heading to the gym immediately, lose it, and then start indulging again. Never ending cycle!

  5. This is a good post. No one ever tells you about the little extras that are associated with growing up. All you ever hear about are how great it is to have your own place or your own car. The hard part is figuring out how to keep all that stuff going.

    • Thanks! You are right. No one ever talks about the hard parts of life. Sometimes, I feel very alone. But then that’s why I am in the PF community. I love the openness.
      I am trying to figure out how to balance everything right now. I don’t think you can ever stop trying. It’s a continual process.

  6. I wrote about this a few weeks ago on my birthday! While the responsibilities kind of suck and simply managing all the admin things it takes to run a modern adult life can be a pain, I love being independent and not having to answer to anyone.

  7. Pingback: Retirement Contributions Here I Come! | SavvyFinancialLatina·

  8. Pingback: End of July’s Friday Link Lovin’ « bogofdebt·

Leave a Reply

