What do you want to be when you grow up?

Remember when you were a kid and wanted to be an astronaut? I recall wanting to be a senator, lawyer, software engineer, and a successful business woman.

What did you want to be when you were growing up? What are you now?

I have been trying to figure out what the future holds, and what my plan is for that future. Every time I run into an “adult,” they ask me what do you want to do? I have a professional answer to the question, of course, but, honestly I don’t know what I want to do.

I know that whatever I end up doing should make me happy. Because that’s what I want to be: happy! Life is too short to just work my entire life.

Now, the question is how will I align happiness with my career goals. How have you aligned your happiness with your career and life goals?

Have a great Sunday everybody!

SavvyFinancialLatina

4 responses to “What do you want to be when you grow up?

  1. I really hate when people ask kids that question, because they have NO IDEA what they want to be. Sure it’s nice to have aspirations to become a doctor, but then it also puts a lot of pressure on that child to achieve that goal. For instance, they won’t be able to focus on other areas they are genuinely interested in or they may miss opportunities to explore what else they are good at. For myself, I always wanted to be a dentist, but my dad persuaded me to study engineering. Thankfully I came to my senses and switched out of engineering into business and now I’m on my way to becoming a lawyer, which is what I decided on after exploring different career options. It’s important for younger people to intern or work at different types of jobs to get a feel of what they want to do in the future. Too many people blindly go into something and end up hating it! :(

  2. If you figure out what the future holds, let me know. You don’t know if you will like something until you try it, so try as many things as possible.

Leave a Reply

