Contingency Plans

con·tin·gen·cy/kənˈtinjənsē/

Noun:
  1. A future event or circumstance that is possible but cannot be predicted with certainty.
  2. A provision for such an event or circumstance.

So, as you may already know I am in job searching mode. Now, I am not frantically sending out resumes to every job posting, but, I am definitely patiently pursuing leads to a couple jobs I am interested in landing. On Wednesday, I had a 1st round interview to this cool job, and I don’t have a very good gut feeling about it. Actually, my gut feeling is not good at all, it’s more bad than anything. I think the interviewer just did not like me. I don’t think I could have done anything differently because I answered all the questions honestly based on my previous experience. So, the only thing I can do is forget about it, except it’s really hard to forget.

Lately, I have been thinking about what we would do if I do not land a job soon. I think a lot of seniors/grad students are facing this dilemma. Planning for a contingency plan is not at all uncommon. We would have to stay in the city, so most likely we would move out of our apartment and move in with my in-laws. They have a big enough house. Actually, my sister-in-law and her boyfriend are currently living with them, and honestly they have more square footage in my in-laws house than we do in our apartment. Crazy, right? This would free up about $800 of cash. I would need to find a part-time job until further notice. So, honestly, I know that we have support if anything does not happen. But, I really do not want to move in with my in-laws. I mean I have been living on my own without parents for four years now. I could not do it again.

The worst part about thinking about a jobless future is considering my morale. I don’t know how I would get through it. To work so hard, and to be so broke. Ahhhh desperation!!!! LOL

I am definitely not trying to get pity here! This is basically the only place I can vent about how I really feel. To everybody else I have to be strong. Plus, I know somewhere out there, there are students who feel the same way, and I don’t want them to feel alone. :)

I’m working hard to finish graduate school and get a good job, but it’s always nice to have a back up plan! So, if you take anything out of this post, is that it’s very important to have contingency plans. If you are applying to college or graduate school make sure you have a backup. If you are working, make sure you have an emergency fund.

This weekend I am going out of town to see my parents. My little brother is getting confirmed. :)

What are your plans for this weekend???

By the way, 26 Days To Go!!!

SavvyFinancialLatina

10 responses to “Contingency Plans

  1. I remember being in that position as well. I took off about 6 months right when I graduated to just hang out and appreciate life. Best thing ever! I hung out with family, traveled, volunteered, saw friends. After that though, my parents wanted me to find a job so I went to a ton of interviews. Looking for a FT job was a FT job itself. I went to over 15 interviews I believe, even for positions I didn’t want. I’m glad I held out for the one that I truly wanted. It will all work out, just be patient. Also tailor your resume towards each position and practice interview questions the night before. It really helped me. But you prob already know this! Let me know if you need any job hunting help or advice :)

  2. Going back to live with family or in your case in laws really isn’t that bad. If they’re willing and it would help, I’d reconsider your stance on the subject.

Leave a Reply

