Don’t Forget the Thank You Notes

Today is Wednesday! Halfway through the week! Yes! This week has just been extremely slow, and school is just dragging. I think the universe knows I will finish in 5 weeks, and it wants to make it as painful as possible.

On another note, I am diligently trying to find a full time job, so I will be able to pay my bills after I graduate. I really hope all my education pays it off. I did graduate with my BS and MS in 4 years with a 3.8+ GPA, leadership activities, and work. Here’s to hoping that employers see that! One thing I hope they don’t ask is what I do for fun. My answer will consist of working out, reading, and watching TV.

One thing I did not know is that writing a thank you letter after a job interview is a must! In fact, some employers think less of those interviewees who fail to follow-up promptly. I have to say that until this year I did not write handwritten thank you notes. I wrote them by email or typed them up. I learned my lesson though! This time after every interview or lead, I am writing a thoughtful thank you note. Remember to send out your note no later than 24 hours after the interview and make sure it reflects your personality and interest. Here is a format that I found on about.com

Contact Information: (Your contact information)
Your Name
Your Address
Your City, State, Zip Code
Your Phone Number
Your Email Address

Date

Contact Information: (The person you are writing to)
Name
Title
Company
Address
City, State, Zip Code

Greeting:

Dear Mr./Ms. Last Name:

Body of Thank You Letter:

When writing a thank you letter, keep your letter simple and focused. Single space your letter and leave a space between each paragraph. Left justify your thank you letter. Use a plain font like Arial, Times New Roman, or Verdana. Select a font size of 10 or 12 points.

The first paragraph of your letter should thank the hiring manager for taking the time to interview you.

The second paragraph of your thank you letter should include the reasons why you are a strong candidate for the position. List specific skills that relate to the job you interviewed for.

If there is information about your qualifications that you wish you had mentioned during the interview, but didn’t get a chance to discuss, use the next paragraph to explain.

In your closing paragraph, reiterate your appreciation for being considered for the job and let the hiring manager know you are looking forward to hearing from him or her soon.

Leave a blank line after the salutation, between each paragraph, and before the closing.

Closing:

Best Regards,

Signature:

Handwritten Signature (for a mailed letter)

Lately, I have been mailing my thank you notes a day in advance. That way my interviewers receive it the day after speaking with me. If the interviewer is farther away, you can email him, and then send him a follow up thank you note. No flowers though! That’s overboard.

What’s your thank you note etiquette?

SavvyFinancialLatina

Leave a Reply

