My Money, Your Money, Our Money…What Money?

I never imagined I would be thinking about “our” money at 21. My plan was never to get married this young. But then I met an amazing young man, and here I am :)

On Monday’s post I talked about knowing where we stand financially. Consolidating our finances was the first step in eliminating the “my money, your money” mentality and turning it into “our money” mentality. Honestly, the first couple months we had several arguments concerning the division of money ownership. This really scared me because my parents still fight over money, and was (still is) very unpleasant. Also, of all the common things couples fight about, money disputes were the best harbingers of divorce. For wives, disagreements over finances and sex are good predictors of marriage. And for husbands, financial disagreements predicted whether divorce was an option. Once, we started treating it as our money, we haven’t argued about our finances.

I am not trying to single out the single people, here! :p But if you are considering getting married, or are in a long term committed relationship, make sure you can speak freely to your spouse about finances. You do not want this to be an awkward or uncomfortable subject between you because believe me once you start buying stuff together you will have to talk about money.So, have you spoken to your significant other about your finances?

Something else: I am actually in charge of the budget, and deciding where the money goes. My hubby and I discuss it, but I am the one who ends up doing all the research and the paperwork. I’m also in charge of paying the bills! If only he dedicated as much time on personal finance as he did on fantasy sports. Sigh! I guess it’s a good thing I am a Money Freak!!!

Does speaking freely about money make your relationship better?

SavvyFinancialLatina

3 responses to “My Money, Your Money, Our Money…What Money?

  1. I was married right before my 26th b-day, and thought that was young! We actually merged finances when we got engaged b/c we bought a house, and three years later are so glad we did! It makes you feel like a team, working towards joint goals, and makes marriage seem more important and special vs dating and living together. My husband commented tonight that he trusts me completely with the money (I also control everything) even though I could do what I want and he wouldn’t know it.. What babe, like completely pay off your debts and put your credit score in the 800s while you’re in school full time? Haha, thanks babe, that’s what I meant. :)

  2. Sounds like your relationship is very similar to mine!

    I could also do anything, and he would not know it. But I don’t see the point. If I go shopping he never says anything if I come back with clothes or shoes. He just smiles and shakes his head. Not that I shop that often honestly.

    Thanks for sharing!!!

  3. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Studying this information So i’m glad to exhibit that I have a very good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most for sure will make sure to don?t put out of your mind this website and provides it a glance regularly.

Leave a Reply

